"Preparing All Students to Succeed"

Important Announcements

All Important Announcements

Feature Stories

What's New for 2015-16! photo

What's New for 2015-16!

This school year, UCEC welcomes a new addition to our faculty. Mrs. Elise Long, our new science teacher, is an experienced instructor who is excited to begin her journey here at UCEC. Having already taught multiple classes in the science field, from Earth Science to Anatomy, Mrs. Long has a history of interacting with students. Before moving to Charlotte in June, she taught students in Wake County.

She and her husband, David, attended North Carolina State University, and she remains a loyal member of the Wolfpack. Alongside her border collie Finley, named after Carter-Finley Stadium, home of the Wolfpack, her husband joins her in her transition.

Mrs. Long is eager to see how her students progress through UCEC and SPCC. When asked what she was most looking forward to, Mrs. Long responded, “the small school atmosphere and the community college setting.”

Her enthusiasm is clear in the response to the question of how she felt about coming to UCEC, “I am so excited to work at Union County Early College! This school provides such a phenomenal opportunity for both students and teachers!”

Full Story
Back to School photo

Back to School

Union County Early College students have headed back to school. For our students and staff, summer has ended and a new year has begun. On Aug. 6, the 2015-16 school year officially began as UCEC begins its ninth year of the New Schools program in Union County.

After graduating the largest class in May, UCEC begins this school year with the largest enrollment to date. One hundred new freshmen have accepted the opportunity to participate in this exciting and rigorous academic program, allowing them to earn a high school diploma and Associate’s degree simultaneously. As these students will quickly learn, this is more than just a school, it is a community and family.

We all look forward to another great year of learning, smiles, tears, excitement, and fun. Welcome back, we’re glad you’re here!

Full Story

Feature Story Archive